Germanium Fuzz

Discussion in 'Pedal Pushers Forum' started by blueridgeguy, Jul 9, 2016.

1. blueridgeguy

blueridgeguy Gretschie

Jul 12, 2015
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    One of my recent pedal acquisitions has been a 9 volt germanium fuzz pedal. I bought this one from a small builder off Reverb and I'm really enjoying it. I'm new to the wonders of fuzz pedals and the joys of germanium tone. Does anyone else have tales of joy or woe to share about their fuzz pedals?

geomac.png

Here are some quick samples of the new pedal, one with a little and one with a lot of fuzz.

TV the Wired Turtle likes this.
  2. TV the Wired Turtle

TV the Wired Turtle Gretschified

Jul 25, 2009
    so cal
    That sounds great, a good germanium fuzz isnt the easiest to get right!
    I like my fuzzes colored w a raspy edge, so I prefer silicon transistors. I use the Seltzerado and fuzz ray. Before this, I relied on the Zvex Fuzz Factory and a Fulltone Soulbender.

nickurso, Outlaw and blueridgeguy like this.
  3. wildeman

wildeman Gretschified

May 10, 2015
    norcal
    Man! Thats sinister lookin, i love some cheezy, biker fuzz. Silicone for me too

blueridgeguy likes this.
  4. nickurso

nickurso Gretschified

Dec 24, 2012
    New Orleans la.
    I have a fuzz brain, a musket fuzz but I have to say this fuzz Ray is my favorite image.jpeg

5. hcsterg

hcsterg Country Gent

Feb 13, 2012
    France
    Some of my DIY'ed or modified Fuzz pedals :

The Doctor Fuzz (Si), built in the mid 90's. More a high gain MXR D+ than a fuzz...
    [​IMG]

The Double Tone-Bender (Ge) : the Pro MKII and the 3-knobs MKIII in a same package.
    [​IMG]

A flight of 3 Fuzz Face UFO. I only kept the grey one, rebuilt with calibrated 60's NOS parts (Ge).
    [​IMG]

The Univox Super-Fuzz (Ge/Si) : fuzz + octaver + scoop filter. Awful. Predates the metal tone.
    [​IMG]

The Sbrodj Fuzz (Si) : a FY-2 Companion Fuzz with an extra output stage to correct level.
    [​IMG]