G6118T-LTV (125th anni) pickup mounting question

Discussion in 'THE Gretsch Discussion Forum' started by ACHIEVEIT, May 28, 2019.

1. ACHIEVEIT

ACHIEVEIT Electromatic

Aug 25, 2010
    Athens, Greece
    Hello everybody,

Please excuse my ignorance, I am new to the world of Gretsches. I recently acquired my first Gretsch - it's a G6118T-LTV (125th anni) in beautiful Jaguar Tan. The guitar comes with TV Jones Powertrons and I would like to change them for TV Jones Classics or Gretsch HS Filtertrons, as I find them too hot for my taste.

After browsing several e-shops, i noticed that the Neck Gretsch HS Filtertron comes with "ears" on each side of the pickup base, while the Bridge Gretsch HS Filtertron doesn't have those "ears". At the same time, TV Jones offers both styles, so without lifting the pickups in my guitar, I have no way of knowing what mounting style was used in the factory for this guitar.

My question is this: can I install a pickup with ears in the neck cavity of my G6118T-LTV or should it be the same as what is in it already? If the second, does any owner of a G6118T-LTV know whether the factory TV Powertron Neck came with ears or not?

Thanks a lot for your help!

ishtar likes this.
  2. jarrodtaylor

jarrodtaylor Electromatic

Mar 14, 2019
    Delray Beach, FL
    I’m pretty sure that guitar should be using the TV Jones universal mount pickups. The ears just slide on and off. You can definitely get the TV Classics that way. HS Filtertrons should also fit but you might need different rings.

https://tvjones.com/pages/pickup-replacement-support

Henry likes this.
  3. section2

section2 Country Gent

Dec 21, 2016
    Toronto
    Welcome to the forum, and congratulations on your beautiful new guitar!