g5422tg: completely wrong setup after changing strings?

Discussion in 'Electromatic Gretsch Forum' started by Wr426f, May 30, 2019.

1. Wr426f

Wr426f Electromatic

Dec 13, 2018
    Belgium
    hello everybody,
    since november i started playing again and bouth myself al beautiful 5422tg. Today i have changed the strings, i removed the old ones and replaced them with the new ones (first remove all 6). I would think: standard buisiness? But now it rattles like hell and i even had to put de bridge higher so i could even tune it?
    It its possible that the neck moved so far without the strings and dit not come back after ?
    I don't think there is something missing on the guitar by changing the strings?
    I don't quit get it?
    Does anybody have an idea? :confused:

2. englishman

englishman Gretschified

Apr 5, 2014
    Detroit
    Are the new strings the same gauge as the old ones?

hcsterg likes this.
  3. Yukimajo

Yukimajo Gretschie

Nov 4, 2018
    Exeter UK
    Unfortunately the Adjusto-Matic bridges do have a nasty tendency to rattle like an asthmatic smoker. I took mine off, removed the saddles and then added sections of pen spring to either side of them (whilst I am saving for a Compton). It's not perfect but it's a hell of a lot better. The springs severely reduce the movement of the saddles in the bridge which is what causes the rattle. Also +1 to what @englishman said.

4. Ricochet

Ricochet I Bleed Orange

Nov 13, 2009
    Monkey Island
    That is a possibility.

A Daddario EXL110 #010 gauge set has a string pull of over a 100lbs. Removing all that pull for the first time since november and some guitar necks won’t be happy.

5. Wr426f

Wr426f Electromatic

Dec 13, 2018
    Belgium
    i am just checking it out, i have asked at the shop for a standard set of strings specific for this guitar. I have measured them now and i see a difference. The low E has a Ø 1.2mm (before 1.26) and the high E has a Ø 0.23 (before 0.26).