G5122 Intonation Problem

Discussion in 'Technical Side of Things' started by neonfall, Dec 10, 2019.

1. neonfall

neonfall Electromatic

Dec 10, 2019
    Europe
    Hello, newbie here,

I have a G5122 Electromatic and I recently wanted to switch from .9 to .11 string set, but the intonation got too bad (I am capable of rod tuning with standard bridge guitars).

For a new project will play, I have to use standard D tuning, and having not much knowledge about strings myself, local dealer offered me D'Addario EXL 116 11-52 saying it fits drop tunings. (https://www.daddario.com/products/g...16-nickel-wound-medium-topheavy-bottom-11-52/)

After putting on strings, I move on to intonation but I witnessed a scary -75 cent general different between open and 12th fret. Whatever combination i tried, the closest cent I have seen was -50 and not to break the rod, I stopped touching the guitar and here I am :D I did many truss rod ajustments in the past (first time with gretsch), but I have never seen this big difference before.

My fretboard is nearly straight and my bridge screws are about 0.5 cm high (~0.2 inch) right now.

After unsuccessful attempts to fix the rod, I have started to wonder fitness of strings with this guitar, or the health of my guitar neck.

Any advice is much appreciated, thanks in advance.

2. Sean McILwaine

Sean McILwaine Synchromatic

Dec 26, 2012
    London UK
    You don't normally adjust the the truss rod for intonation thats to set action and you might have to adjust if going from very light strings to heavy. Have you adjusted the bridge thats where you set intonation. Move the bridge base forward if notes are flat back if sharp. Easy with a floating bridge but very small movements, if pinned you need to adjust the bridge saddles.

Have a read of this which will guide you through the setup process.

http://gretschpages.com/news/mals-big-guide-guitar-setup-and-troubleshooting/

Hope that helps.

Last edited: Dec 11, 2019