G2655 Upgrade Recommendations?

Discussion in 'Streamliner Gretsch Forum' started by section2, Dec 21, 2016.

1. section2

section2 Country Gent

Dec 21, 2016
    Toronto
    Hi all,

Longtime lurker; first time poster. Nice to meet you!

Here's my story: I've been drumming for 25 years (on a vintage Gretsch kit, of course), but a couple of years ago I finally decided to branch out and start learning to play guitar. Given my lifelong love for Gretsch drums, it was only a matter of time before I got myself a Gretsch guitar. I took the plunge yesterday when I picked up a G2655 Streamliner Center Block Jr. with what I'd thought was a lowball Best Offer on eBay. Lo and behold, the seller accepted, and the guitar is on its way.

Here's my question: any recommendations on mods that will help this guitar play at its best? I'm particularly wondering about the electronics, bridge, and tuners. I recently tried out a G2655 and found that the bridge pickup was a little muddy, though this might have been because I had the master volume backed off quite a bit. I wonder if I should consider replacing the pots and/or adding a treble bleed. Or maybe I just need to turn up.

I'd like to spend some of my Christmas holidays tinkering with the guitar, so I'm hoping to order any new parts soon. I've got a Bigsby B3 and a Towner bar to add already, and I'd welcome any recommendations for more upgrades.

Thanks!

cjtowner likes this.
  2. Aymara

Aymara Friend of Fred

Jul 6, 2013
    Germany
    The first thing I would do is order a set of G-Arrow knobs :D

Second ... most TOM bridges on Gretsches, even on my Panther, are cheap China crap. The best option, especially if you have a Bigsby, is an ABM 2400 roller bridge, which is CNC-cut from bell brass and high end quality, or a Compton or True-Arc bar bridge. But the later can introduce intonation issues with a pinned or secured bridge. On my Falcon with a pinned True-Arc .10-.46 strings are spot on, .11s are slightly off.