first time changing tube,preemptive advise sought

Discussion in 'Ampage Area' started by mandobandit, Jun 27, 2019.

1. mandobandit

mandobandit Gretschie

Apr 1, 2019
    Ohio
    You may have seen earlier in the week where I posted regarding dead Blackstar 20 watt Studio mkII
    I contacted Sweetwater as it is new since February, as to what to do to remedy situation .
    They are so pleasant to work with.
    Kevin my sales guy put me in touch with tech support, he had me try running my guitar into the loop return to attempt to determine if pre-amp or power output could be determined, they have sent a full complement of new glass to make the swap.
    I have not done this before, but from what I've read on the web is that 20 watts and under do not require biasing as they are cathode based, am I understanding that correctly?
    I am a fairly tech savvy guy and work as a structural designer, so I'm comfortable with making the swap( I've re fretted several guitars and made invasive mods etc.), just want the benefit of the group, as I know many here do this on a regular basis.
    Hoping to get time this evening, as the tubes have arrived at home.
    thank you all
    Fred

MKunie likes this.
  2. Uncle Daddy

Uncle Daddy Friend of Fred

Jan 19, 2012
    Maldon UK
    Wait till the amp is cold. Start from V1, the one on the furthest right. You may have to remove a metal cover, which normally has bayonet fittings. The tube pins are often tight in the socket, so go carefully. Gently pull the glass tube down; you might have to rock it a bit. Look at the pins. You will see an indexing slot on the centre spigot that needs lining up with a slot in the tube socket. Rotate the tube pins against the base until the slot and spigot engage, then gently push the tube home. Again, it may need a wriggle.

It's really no more difficult than changing a light bulb.