Extreme Makeover: Blue Sparkle Jet Edition

Discussion in 'THE Gretsch Discussion Forum' started by section2, May 14, 2019.

1. section2

section2 Synchromatic

Dec 21, 2016
    Toronto
    Here's my first rebuild thread. As some folks here know, I've wanted a Sparkle Jet since before I even wanted to play guitar. But I'm relatively new to stringed things after decades behind the drum kit, and I can't justify spending Sparkle Jet money on my Squier-level skills. So when I found this silver sparkle 2011 G5236 on Reverb for about $275, I jumped on it.

2.jpg

When it arrived in the mail, though, it just... wasn't sparkly enough. It was more sparkly than the metallic silver finishes on the more recent Pro Jets, but the metal flakes were pretty sparse. Under just the right light, I could convince myself that it was close enough, but then I'd see a pic of a true Sparkle Jet and begin to drool. So in a fit of possibly misguided ambition, I said to myself: "Hey, Gretsch uses drum wrap on the pro line Sparkle Jets. I'm a drummer. I know drum wrap. How hard could this be?"

I decided that it was a problem that I didn't own any blue guitars. (Paging @drmilktruck!) Before long, I'd ordered a sheet of blue sparkle drum wrap from the good people at Precision Drum Company.

I also wanted to replace the stock mini-Gretschbuckers with Filtertrons, replace the two-knob setup with a proper four-control Gretsch setup, swap out the tuners, and add a floating bridge, a custom pickguard and truss rod cover, and a Bigsby. More importantly, I wanted to challenge myself and learn some new skills. Thus began my first foray into major guitar surgery. Off to the races.

Last edited: May 14, 2019
  2. section2

section2 Synchromatic

Dec 21, 2016
    Toronto
    Routing the pickup cavities