Extravagant new member here!

Discussion in 'New Member Intros' started by Cassotto, Jun 19, 2019.

1. Cassotto

Cassotto Gretschie

Jun 16, 2019
    Spain
    Hello everyone!

I'm from Spain, and as of today I'm the proud owner of a Gretsch 6128T Duo Jet George Harrison Signature guitar.

If I said I'm extravagant, it is because I've got this very expensive (at least for me) guitar when I already had another one, and I can hardly play. The explanation behind this decision is long and convoluted, and it doesn't really matter. What matters is that I've got the guitar, that I want to learn to play it properly, and that it really feels comfortable to me. I had always dreamt with this guitar ever since it came out, but I'd always thought it would only be castles in the air for me.

I've got another electric guitar, a lovely orange DeArmond T400 I got very cheap in a sale at the time it was discontinued, one of the best purchases in my life. When I bought it, in 2001, I started playing it at home, and attended guitar lessons for about four years, but I didn't feel I was learning much, and I quit. Since then I haven't played much. Probably the teacher's approach wasn't the right one, since -and I didn't realise this at the time- he didn't even ask me what sort of music I liked or where I wanted to go with the guitar, and I felt I was going nowhere.

But now things are going to change. With my holidays starting in a week, I want to devote them to playing and to learning as much as possible.

I've only got the guitar for one afternoon and, as Ringo said, I've already got blisters on my fingers. So I've already gone through (at least part of) the bad part!

See you over here!

KuKuKu, speedicut, Groutsch and 12 others like this.
  2. Wozob

Wozob Country Gent

Jul 6, 2014
    The Netherlands
    Welcome to G-T and congretschulations on the George Harrisob Duo Jet. I can imagine it makes you want to play the guitar.
    Also we love pictures over here.

Cassotto likes this.