Join Gretsch-Talk Today

Electromatic CB Followed Me Home...

Discussion in 'New Member Intros' started by EvThoMcC, Aug 9, 2017.

1. EvThoMcC

EvThoMcC Electromatic

Aug 6, 2017
    Michigan
    Hi, all --

Somewhat accidental Gretsch newbie here. Have always yearned after a Gretsch axe for the better part of 15 years. Last Friday, walked into Guitar Center to buy some patch cables and stumbled across an immaculate Electromatic G5622T hanging on the used equipment pegs. Looks/ feels like it's basically brand new/ unplayed. Finish of that Georgia Green paint stopped me in my tracks for a few minutes.

[​IMG]

Went home, thinking it'd just haunt my dreams for the next few years, but my wife surprised me and picked the thing up for me the next day. Came with the original hard case, to boot. I'm madly in love (with both her and the guitar)!

Cursory reading tells me it's not the most beloved model in the Gretsch lineup, especially amongst the traditionalists, but my wife and I both love it -- I grow weak in the knees every time I see the thing, let alone hold it.

I do have some, uh, rather stupid questions right off the bat. I can kinda figure out some controls, but I'm having trouble sussing out exactly what knob does what in the lower portion of the body. I've tried searching what Gretsch says is an owners manual for the model online, but it doesn't seem to address the triple-pickup model whatsoever. Can someone help sort this big dummy (me) straight on what does what?

Also appreciate any suggestions on what sort of improvements to tackle first. Eyeing a Bigsby stabilizer, new nut, possibly a Compton bridge...at some point I'd also like to "liberate" that middle pickup switch from the other pickup vol controls, but we'll cross that bridge at some later point...

Thanks,

-Evan

blueridgeguy, CatTones, Zeek and 2 others like this.
  2. Pdnlegs

Pdnlegs Synchromatic

May 28, 2016
    Oklahoma