Egnater fizzled

Discussion in 'Ampage Area' started by mbkri, Nov 9, 2019.

1. mbkri

mbkri Country Gent

Sep 22, 2012
    Chicago
    My Egnater Rebel was ticking along just fine as the gritty dry undercurrent behind my AC30 with the wet sound from my pedalboard.
    Then, on a whim i started playing a dynasonic jet through it And it sounded AWFUL. Metallic, harsh, tinny, shrill, unlistenable.
    I bought it used in June so i wondered if the tubes were shot. Tried the “tap them with a pencil” test on the power tubes and switched them all out..... but now its dead as a doornail. Silent. Only the power light works. And the tubes glow. Silently.
    Fuse? Can it be anything else? And the awful tinny sound.... preamp tubes?
    Cant see me putting a lot of money into having this fixed. Its going to cost about $150 for tubes.

2. wabash slim

wabash slim Friend of Fred

Feb 10, 2010
    lafayette in
    Start your troubleshooting with the preamp tubes first. If the light's on, the fuse should be good. If the power tubes are glowing, they may not be the problem.

Waxhead, Merc, pmac11 and 1 other person like this.
  3. mbkri

mbkri Country Gent

Sep 22, 2012
    Chicago
    should have started there instead of the power tubes i guess. Thanks WS. Getting a new set to put in tomorrow

4. wabash slim

Feb 10, 2010
    lafayette in
    Go for the cheap and easy fix first. It could also be a cap gone bad somewhere. Even so, you'll have spare tubes.

Tony65x55, Merc and mbkri like this.
  5. Dennison

Dennison Country Gent

Jul 17, 2011
    Kent, UK
    How old is the amp? Google "Egnater transformer problem". Lots of stuff there. Best of luck.

6. mbkri

mbkri Country Gent

Sep 22, 2012
    Chicago
    Its a mark 1 version. No idea how old though. I will look at transformer articles and see. Im not AT ALL electronically minded so anything beyond changing Tubes and fuses is going to be done by someone else.

7. mbkri

mbkri Country Gent

Sep 22, 2012
    Chicago