Join Gretsch-Talk Today

Do you play a Gretsch differently from the way you play other guitars?

Discussion in 'THE Gretsch Discussion Forum' started by carljharding, Apr 15, 2018.

1. carljharding

carljharding Electromatic

Mar 26, 2018
    UK
    Hi all. I'm very new to the Gretsch world with the G5420t, which I'm loving, my first Gretsch.

What I have found is that this guitar makes me approach playing in a different way from, say, my Tele or my SG. Something about the shape, or maybe the sound, or maybe the feel of it, just encourages me to break out of the rut and do things differently.

Do anyone else find this, or just me? What about other (electric, 6 string) guitars? Do others find they play semi-hollows differently from solid body? I've heard it said of Ricks, is it also true of Gretsches?

Rocky Rococo likes this.
  2. Aymara

Aymara Friend of Fred

Jul 6, 2013
    Germany
    That leads to the question, what you do differently? Any example?

3. Robbie

Robbie Country Gent

Jun 17, 2013
    Sarnia Ontario Canada
    Personally I don't play one differently from the other.

4. wildeman

wildeman Friend of Fred

May 10, 2015
    norcal
    I play my big hollows a bit different than my solids and semi's because they're set up a bit differently. 10's on the solids and 11 or 12's on the hollows.

5. LivingMyDream

LivingMyDream Country Gent

Carl, I'm not exactly sure what you mean by playing "differently," so it's a little hard to answer the question. Are you talking about doing something like more finger picking rather than strumming?

6. Charles Conner

Charles Conner Gretschie

May 19, 2016
    Maryland