Do I need a compressor?

Discussion in 'Pedal Pushers Forum' started by Geckomecca, Jul 10, 2018.

1. Geckomecca

Geckomecca Electromatic

Feb 1, 2018
    Gore, VA
    hello friends. Newbie here at Gretsch, but I am a huge pedal fan. I've never really understood compressors, and forgive me as I'm sure it's come up many times before, but as a garage/basement guitar hack, who only plays a few open mikes from time to time, do you all think a compressor pedal would be of benefit to my sound? Never really get the opportunity to play at really loud volumes, but feel I might benefit from "evening out" (don't know if that is a word) my chords and playing a bit. I usually just take the volume knob on my guitar down a notch or two and that helps a bit, but I wonder if a compressor might be a better option. Thanks for any info you all might be able to share!!
    -gecko

2. Sid Nitzerglobin

Sid Nitzerglobin Country Gent

Jun 8, 2015
    fROMOHIO
    It could certainly help w/ managing dynamics if that's what you're looking for. Aside from the HS filtertron equipped Gretsches I usually don't feel the need for one in my guitar set ups, but lots of people swear by them as critical, always on pedals.

Out of what I've tried w/ guitar, a good option to get your feet wet could be to find a used Xotic SP Compressor and give it a try. Sounds very good, can be dialed for very natural sounding dynamic range reduction to over the top chicken picking pump, has nice and simple controls, price shouldn't be too bad, and it should sell fairly easily if you decide it's not for you.

Geckomecca likes this.
  3. Henry

Henry Gretschified

Apr 9, 2014
    Petaluma