Distortion pedals

Discussion in 'Electromatic Gretsch Forum' started by Rockhead, Mar 19, 2019.

1. Rockhead

Rockhead Electromatic

Mar 3, 2019
    Delaware county, PA
    Just wondering what distortion pedals you guys are using. I recently bought a 5220 BT and have a couple of inexpensive overdrive pedals for my dirt. To me they sound better with my Tele than my Gretsch. I want to add a distortion pedal, maybe a Boss DS1 to my board but am curious if there are some that are better suited to the Gretsch sound. Forgive me, i'm new to Gretsch guitars.

By the way, my amp is a Fender Frontman 25.

2. Henry

Henry Gretschified

Apr 9, 2014
    Petaluma
    What kind of music or sound are you looking for. My favorite OD right now is an ethos overdrive, but it is insanely expensive and I am sure there are good and more affordable options. I've gone through a lot of drive pedals and I have found that I like the ability to pre and post gain EQ to get th me sound I want.

3. dlew919

dlew919 Gretschie

Jul 18, 2016
    Sydney, Australia
    The boss ds1 works great. That’s why it is their second biggest seller after the tuner.

Tips though:

Wind the tone control back. Somewhere between 10:00 and 12:00. Over that you get the fizz that some complain of.

Wind the gain back - somewhere between 1:00 and 3:00.

Juicy creamy aggression.

Some people mod them. There are many on the web. I’ve never bothered. You might find it useful.

All tips are made with the realisation that YMMV.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mr Swisher likes this.
  4. Rockhead

Rockhead Electromatic

Mar 3, 2019
    Delaware county, PA
    Sorry, I like to play mostly classic rock, blues stuff. I'm thinking about getting a used DS1 with the older style circuit board so I can modify it at some point. I believe the new ones come with a smaller brd that won't accept most mods.

5. diamoroso

diamoroso Electromatic

Feb 4, 2019
    San Diego, CA