Directions are your Friends

Discussion in 'Fred's Barcalounge' started by Thass, Apr 4, 2020.

1. Thass

Thass Electromatic

Dec 29, 2019
    Palm Desert
    My wife’s birthday is tomorrow. Being in lockdown , I decided to bake her a cake, something I’ve never done before. Everything went great, I even got the cake out of the baking dish without any problems. But when I started putting the frosting on... well everything started to melt and slide off the sides. I stuck 4 long matches in the cake lit them called my wife in the kitchen, sang a fast version of happy birthday and she blew out the “candles”. We enjoyed warm cake with a side of frosting dipping sauce. She loved it all. During clean up I read the directions on the frosting can. First step “let cake cool throughly”. Who knew?
    567DB45F-C218-4454-BE84-EEEB52232FA8.jpeg

2. radd

radd Country Gent

Dec 27, 2017
    Santa cruz
    if you invite me to dinner, please make it for a night she is cooking:eek:

3. DennisC

DennisC Synchromatic

May 11, 2017
    Germany
    Happy Birthday to She!

That's why I end up baking cookies most of the time. The same happened to me a few years ago, when I didn't read the instructions, too. I found a solution in ... I have a friend who's very skilled in baking and making all these fancy decorations and stuff (I can do some of that, too, but always end up in justifying it looking kinda broken because this won't affect taste and just happened to break...), who in exchange gets other things done by me she isn't that skilled in. Works perfect.

Seems like you two enjoyed it ... which I think is the mission that counts being accomplished.