Join Gretsch-Talk Today

Decision time: White Penguin or 6118T-125

Discussion in 'THE Gretsch Discussion Forum' started by Aracelli, Aug 10, 2017.

Wisest choice

1. White Penguin

2. 6118T 125th Anni

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Aracelli

Aracelli Electromatic

Aug 10, 2017
    Denmark
    Hi guys,

being a left handed player often involves digging around various forums, auction sites, local Craigslist etc.

I am a Gretsch newbie - But I am lusting after one and after ALOT of scouting I narrowed it down to these two.

2011 White Penguin w. Bigsby

2008 6118T 125th Anni Jaguar Tan

Both in mint condition - 100% original.

Here is the kicker - They are both the EXACT same price (1500EUR), which have left me slightly bamboozled as I want to make the best purchase and get the most out of my money.

So dear Gretsch gurus, which one would you pick?

(As for music of choice: Rock and Indie)

2. slimwilson

slimwilson Synchromatic

Dec 22, 2015
    Arlington, Tx
    What do you currently own, and which one will be the different addition?

ZackyDog likes this.
  3. Aracelli

Aracelli Electromatic

Aug 10, 2017
    Denmark
    I currently own a Whitfill Telecaster with dual humbuckers and a Fender strat - So was looking for something for a new tone, or at least seperat itself from the usual Fender and PAF tone.

And of course also make a purchase that would make an economical sense, as in if the two guitars are close in tone, maybe value would tip the scales.

I seen YouTube videos of both and even together and read countless of reviews, but having a REAL hard time to decide.

4. slimwilson

slimwilson Synchromatic

Dec 22, 2015
    Arlington, Tx
    So no big hollowbodies yet? I'd say go for the Anni then.

MTurner and ZackyDog like this.
  5. Wozob

Wozob Country Gent

Jul 6, 2014
    The Netherlands