Correct Output for NOS '60's PAF Filtertrons

Discussion in 'The Pickup Place' started by HOYERGEORGE, Jan 20, 2020.

1. HOYERGEORGE

HOYERGEORGE Electromatic

Oct 19, 2010
    Seattle
    Hi Guys !

Need your help. Trying to figure out if I've been hosed . Bought a pair of PAT # Filtertron pups advertised as NOS '60's. When they arrived the magnets were dead. A replacement set was sent and when my tech finished putting them in the guitar, they read Neck: 7.2 ; Bridge: 7.4. Seems rather high to me. Advice please. THX!

Last edited: Jan 20, 2020
  2. Outlaw

Outlaw Synchromatic

Jul 13, 2011
    UK
    that does seem high.
    I'm no expert but i read somewhere that vintage filtertron output was between 4k and 5k.
    someone here with more knowledge than me will give you a more accurate answer.

3. HOYERGEORGE

HOYERGEORGE Electromatic

Oct 19, 2010
    Seattle
    Thanks - that was my understanding as well

4. G5422T

G5422T Country Gent

May 24, 2012
    usa
    Original late 50's Filters were around 4k. The neck and bridge were the same pups.

IIRC, the early 60's Filters were bumped a bit, but the readings that you have seem to be very high. Hard to believe that Gretsch went that "hot" that early.

The most accurate modern replacement for early Filters are the Ray Butts from TV Jones, and they sound wonderful.

Best of luck.

Outlaw and ZackyDog like this.
  5. wildeman

wildeman Gretschified

May 10, 2015
    norcal
    Got pictures, sound kinda like pre FMIC ceramics.

pmac11 and ZackyDog like this.
  6. HOYERGEORGE

HOYERGEORGE Electromatic

Oct 19, 2010
    Seattle
    These F'trons sound very similar to my Duncan Antiquities and Manlius '59 Low Turn with long A3 magnets. Before I start thinking about magnet swaps etc. could you point me to recordings ( Chet Atkins ) starting with clean tones ? I'm really trying to ascertain tonal differences & not be confused with more amp volume and distortion. THX!

7. G5422T

G5422T Country Gent

May 24, 2012
    usa