Join Gretsch-Talk Today

beginner Rockabilly songs

Discussion in 'Songs in the key of Gretsch' started by samdevos, Jun 26, 2009.

1. samdevos

samdevos Gretschie

Jun 26, 2009
    belgium
    Hey guys i just started a rockabilly band , we want to do for now only some covers.

But i'm looking for a whole bunch of (prefer easy) rockabilly songs that wil set the place on fire.

anyone that has advice?

thx

2. Falco

Falco Electromatic

May 8, 2009
    Belgium
    Hi Sam, welcome to this forum. I am not into rockabilly but I am sure folks will help you out around here. Grtz from Morstel.

3. Gazzer86

Gazzer86 Electromatic

Jun 3, 2009
    Eastbourne UK
    Hi Sam

Im pretty new to the rockabilly style and probably the two easiest tracks i have learnt are by the late great Eddie Cochran, they being C'mon Everybody and Summertime Blues which only have the sme three chords E, A and B. You may want to spice them up Setzer style. The Stray Cats did great versions of these tunes.

Hope this helps

Gazzer

4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

5. chicago slim

chicago slim Gretschie

Dec 27, 2008
    Bowling Green, KY
    Welcome,

I have also recently become lead guitarist and singer in a rock-a-billy group.

If you click on Social Groups, at the top of the page, you will see a rock-a-billy area. We have posted clips of old groups, as well as some rock-a-billy guitar lessons. Please join, and look through all the pages, to see what songs you like.

I'm currently doing a lot of Gene Vincent material. If you come across links that you find helpful, please share them with the group.

Slim

6. Scott

Scott Country Gent

Jun 27, 2008
    Winston-Salem, NC
    The best place to start IMO is anything from the Sun studios in Memphis, especially Elvis' material from this period. Carl Perkins wrote and recorded some great stuff then as well, but a lot of these songs were re-recorded later in his career. The later versions don't hold a candle to the original Sun material.

7. rcboals