Beatniks Jet Build

Discussion in 'Technical Side of Things' started by beatnik, Feb 15, 2011.

1. beatnik

beatnik Synchromatic

Jul 25, 2010
    Wiltshire
    ok here we go, a bit of background stuff, I love gretsch guitars like a brother unfortunately im a skint student so cant afford to buy one so i decided to see if i could make a guitar equal in quality to a pro-line gretsch but at a fraction of the cost. Im a design and technology student so i have access to tools/machines i ordinarily wouldnt be able to afford.

Choice of guitar - originally i planned on doin the smoke green anni junior but as this is my first build i thought the hollowbody might be pushing it a bit so instead decided on a double cut jet instead.

Upon bombarding a few people with requests/questions i managed to get the information i needed all i needed now was the bits and bobs

spec
    body - chambered mahogany (two piece) thanks to sandy for the tracing
    neck one piece mahogany
    pups - filtertrons
    bigsby b7 (original)
    tone switch
    pickup switch (both gretsch)
    3 G knobs chrome
    cts pots
    sprague orange drop caps (.22 and .47) struggled to find the exact ones grestch use so ill try these i can always change them later
    gibson braided wire
    switchcraft jack socket
    wilkinson tuners (grover imperial style)
    ebony fret board (22.4" scale 22 fret)
    still to come compton bridge (waiting for site to come back online so i can order it

now im goin to try and make as much as possible myself so cavity covers/pickup rings/pickguard/truss rod cover will all be made in the workshop rather than bought

i do not expect it to be a fast build as ive got to keep up with my work as well plus as its my first id rather take my time get it done properly