Bass as per Gretsch

Discussion in 'Technical Side of Things' started by Geezer1950, Feb 10, 2019.

1. Geezer1950

Geezer1950 Electromatic

Nov 20, 2018
    here
    Any other G6136LSB owners out there that would like to talk about why this guitar is so expensive vs. its value vs. its innovations vs. its shortcomings? I acquired one in a trade........I use it, but if my situation were different I would have traded it away like the original owner and counted it a lesson learned...........maybe

2. Bertotti

Bertotti Country Gent

Jul 20, 2017
    South Dakota
  3. Geezer1950

Geezer1950 Electromatic

Nov 20, 2018
    here
  4. DennisC

DennisC Gretschie

May 11, 2017
    Hannover - Germany
    ... which are...?

5. englishman

englishman Gretschified

Apr 5, 2014
    Detroit
    Looks like it would be a classic neck-diver.

6. Yukimajo

Yukimajo Gretschie

Nov 4, 2018
    Exeter UK
    As a bassist I would also be interested to know of the shortcomings. Gretsch don't have the most extensive range of long scale basses, so I'd be interested to hear of the problems form someone who actually has one. None of the guitar shops near me ever carry them as stock items so I can't just go and play one to see for myself.

7. Bertotti

Bertotti Country Gent

Jul 20, 2017
    South Dakota
    Note picking on you or trying to be a smartass just curious what the shortcomings are without me writing a novel. I am still researching basses, have never owned or played one before. The guys here have been helping me and when I see a thread like this I figure it is a great time to hear other perspectives so please fill me in on its shortcomings for you.

8. Geezer1950

Geezer1950 Electromatic

Nov 20, 2018
    here
    Wfalcon withCABS.jpg 1. No tone control---the mud switch circuit is the same as on the guitars and is ineffective on the lower frequencies of a bass. Reviewers have lost track of which switch is which--one guy even calling the PUP selector a "bass booster."