Join Gretsch-Talk Today

Anyone know what year or model Synchromatic this is

Discussion in 'Vintage Gretsch Discussion' started by Focker, Feb 13, 2018.

1. Focker

Focker Electromatic

Feb 13, 2018
    Glen Riddle, PA
    Hello, total newb to this page, so forgive me if I’m not up to date on all the info.

This guitar belonged to my great great uncle Ercole. He purchased it sometime after coming here from “The Old Country”.

I was given this after he died, and took it to my local guitar shop. They refused to touch it, and sent it out to an actual luthier to be rebound.

I have limited info on it, other than it’s obviously a vintage Synchromatic.

There are some numbers stamped on the inside where it says Gretsch Super Structure, and a what appears to be a handwritten serial number in pencil of 6528 (or maybe 652-8?)

Trying to attach some photos. Any help would be appreciated. It plays nice and has a cool sound, I rarely bust it out, but docon occasion. Usually when someone is over who is more talented than me (not too hard) and that I trust (considerably harder.)

Attached Files:

Sonny Strimple and tartanphantom like this.
  2. wildeman

wildeman Friend of Fred

May 10, 2015
    norcal
    Very nice, pre war. Somebody's gonna be along to tell you exactly. I have a similar vintage New Yorker that also needs binding, mine has been narrowed down to mid war by Ed Ball, he will probably be the one to help you.

Focker likes this.
  3. tartanphantom

tartanphantom Country Gent

Jul 30, 2008
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Just lovely. Thanks for the pics.

Focker likes this.
  4. Lrg280

Lrg280 Gretschie

Nov 4, 2017
    Greenport, New York
    Really cool guitar, and nice to have it handed down to you from your Uncle. I’m sure one of the resident experts will be able to give you lots of info on this particular model.

Focker likes this.
  5. audept

audept I Bleed Orange

Dec 1, 2010
    Sydney, Australia
    Welcome to the forum, Focker!
    welcome mat 36.jpg