Join Gretsch-Talk Today

Am I Highly Sprung ...?

Discussion in 'Streamliner Gretsch Forum' started by MarkyMac, Dec 6, 2017.

1. MarkyMac

MarkyMac Gretschie

Does anyone else find the stock Bigsby trem spring/arm on your Streamliner particularly stiff?
    I'm no expert, but compared to other trem arms I've played on other guitars, (Makes) these seem really stiff. Is it the same on all Gretsches?
    Is is good or bad?
    Could 'too soft' tempt dive bombing yourself out of tune?
    Do Gretsch players develop a Shwartzenager right arm over time due to the workout? Even the ladies?

I read somewhere that the standard Streamliner Bigsby spring can be easily replaced with a 'Reverend' stock spring. Has anyone tried this?
    Cheers - Mark

Last edited: Dec 6, 2017
  2. Moleng1

Moleng1 Synchromatic

Jul 5, 2014
    Vancouver, B.C. Canada
    LOL...................... I'm sure NOBODY here has tried this!!!.....................

Tongue in cheek of course!! I think somewhere on here there's a 6 or more page discussion on the "Reverend" spring.

I change my Bigsby spring on every guitar I own to the Reverend spring.

I'm sure others will jump in soon, but I think it's the best $10 upgrade you can make!!

3. audept

audept I Bleed Orange

Dec 1, 2010
    Sydney, Australia
    I also changed all my Bigsby springs to Reverend Soft Springs, made quite a difference.

Moleng1, Mag3, Henry and 1 other person like this.
  4. MarkyMac

MarkyMac Gretschie

Aha... thanks chaps.
    Does make you wonder why they fit such stiff springs in the first place, if lots of folks change them.
    Bet the folks over at 'Reverend Springs' love it.

5. Henry

Henry Friend of Fred

Apr 9, 2014
    Petaluma
    Yep all about the rev spring. I have one incoming as we speak. $10, no charge for shipping, handling or tax to California.

Mag3 likes this.
  6. MarkyMac

MarkyMac Gretschie