Acoustic bigsby

Discussion in 'The Great Bigsby forum' started by Blues Playa, Jan 29, 2013.

1. Blues Playa

Blues Playa Gretschie

Jan 23, 2013
    Ohio
    I have no experience with installing bigsbys, but could i put one on my acoustic? Heres a pic

Attached Files:

2. ampe

ampe Country Gent

May 11, 2011
    belgium
    Yes you could.

3. MBERTHOLD

MBERTHOLD Country Gent

Yes ;) btw have been looking at this for my own build. Found just googling around. The saddle would need replacement for something with less friction, customized. Go for it;)

Attached Files:

4. workknot

workknot Country Gent

Feb 15, 2009
    Brainerd, Minnesota
    I would be a little concerned about putting that much downward stress on the top of a flatop guitar and will that much hardware resting on the top is that going to dampen the acoustic tone and volume?
    Pop's

5. calvin lee

calvin lee Country Gent

Jan 5, 2011
    new york
    i've seen a floyd rose on an acoustic, so i think you could put a bigsby on one. it would have to have a pretty strong top though, because all that pressure could warp the wood over time. it could be worth trying though. it would definitely sound unique.

6. Blues Playa

Blues Playa Gretschie

Jan 23, 2013
    Ohio
    You know what it was my grandpas guitar , they dont make em anymore so ill just Let it Be

7. 54club

54club Synchromatic

Mar 31, 2011
    Kelseyville, CA
    Use an archtop guitar...it'll work swell. I have done it in the past. Don't use a double roller, use a B3 or B11 or if it's a big archtop use a B6.

8. drmilktruck

drmilktruck Gretschified

May 17, 2009
    Plymouth, MN
    There were rare Gretsch models called the Nightbird (blue) and Crimson Flyer (red). They were acoustic electric models with a Bigsby.

[​IMG]

9. MBERTHOLD

MBERTHOLD Country Gent