5120 wiring mod- worth it??

Discussion in 'Technical Side of Things' started by Teledriver, Feb 29, 2020.

1. Teledriver

Teledriver Gretschie

Feb 12, 2011
    Iowa City, IA
    Curious to wire the tone before the master (5120 and guessing it's wired the same as TV Jones' Tone Pot wiring scheme). Does it make sense to try it?? Just wondering, but itching to try.
    Thoughts or experiences please.

2. DennisC

DennisC Synchromatic

May 11, 2017
    Germany
    Uh ... I doubt it will result in a big difference, but a difference for sure.

I'd rather play around with cap values, leaving everything in the place it's in...

This will only affect anything if the volume is below maximum... Hm ... what is your goal with this?

Tone at maximum will hardly be affected, too, but maybe a little bit. I'm not a professional in electronics...

j.s.c likes this.
  3. Charles Conner

Charles Conner Gretschie

May 19, 2016
    Maryland
    With the tone control being last in the 5120 guitar's circuit, wired the way it comes from the factory, the volume and tone controls don't work independently well. I found out the hard way , on the job while trying to play a slow instrumental (Los Indious Tabaharas' version of Maria Elena). As I tried to turn the tone back the volume dropped and visa versa, before I got it right the song was almost over. I also replaced the tone cap with a .022 in place of the original .047. I also did away with the 2 pickup volume controls . I have just one "master" volume control and tone control

4. Teledriver

Teledriver Gretschie

Feb 12, 2011
    Iowa City, IA
    Well my thought is to try and turn the master into an actual master, after all else is adjusted.
    Amp to cable to jack to Tone to Master to switch to pots.